

## TERMS OF REFERENCE

#### for the

### **ALL-PARTY RIVER SEVERN PARTNERSHIP CAUCUS (Consortium)**

Chair: Daniel Kawczynski MP (Conservative)

### 1. Background

The All-Party MP Caucus for the River Severn Partnership was established following a Parliamentary Debate on 11 March 2020. This debate considered the long term flooding issues on the River Severn, including the tributaries of the Wye, Teme and Warwickshire Avon which comprise the River Severn Catchment.

Through the debate, MPs collectively called for a holistic approach which delivers whole water management across the catchment. Both flood risk and water security need considering over the long term and a comprehensive management structure is required which builds resilience and drives local growth and economic prosperity.

Daniel Kawczynski, MP for Shrewsbury and Atcham, highlighted the work of the recently formed River Severn Partnership; a coalition of Local Authorities, Local Enterprise Partnerships, Natural Resources Wales and the strategic water resource planning group, Water Resources West, all with a collective transformational ambition. The Partnership is seeking to consider the river catchment as a 'system', identifying the programme of measures to be implemented across all partners, which bring together management of flood risk, water resources and climate resilient growth. It builds on established work to develop long term strategies for flood risk management across the Thames and Humber estuaries. However it seeks to further develop this strategic thinking by bringing together both flood risk and water security needs with resultant opportunities to underpin and unlock economic and social growth.

MPs sought Government political and financial support for the River Severn Partnership and the ambition to implement a River Severn Strategy, which would enable piloting along the length of the UK's longest river. The Floods Minister welcomed and recognised the forward thinking nature of the River Severn Partnership and asked MPs to keep both herself and the Secretary of State informed of progress. A request was made for Daniel Kawczynski MP to lead formation of an MP Caucus, bringing together cross party support to include Members of the Welsh Government, to drive forward the collective ambition for a holistic water management approach for the Severn Catchment.

This MP Caucus provides a parliamentary platform to secure support for the River Severn Partnership and development of a River Severn Strategy. It will address the need for a cross government approach to maximise public investments and achieve multiple government objectives on housing, growth, infrastructure, the environment and climate change.



### 2. Objectives

The objectives for the River Severn Partnership Caucus are:

- to raise the political profile of the River Severn Partnership
- to gain Government financial support for a River Severn Strategy
- to drive policy and funding changes for investment in infrastructure which enables delivery of multi beneficial outcomes across housing, growth, the environment and climate change.

#### 3. Secretariat

The secretariat for the River Severn Partnership Caucus will be provided by the River Severn Partnership Programme Team. It will provide administrative support and act as a key contact/coordinator for meetings and members.

#### 4. Members

MPs from all parties and Members of Welsh Government are invited to join the River Severn Partnership Caucus.

### 5. Advisory Panel

The governance arrangements for the River Severn Partnership includes an Executive Steering Board. This consists of lead officers from across a range of specialist organisations including the Environment Agency, Local Authorities, Water Companies, local business leads and LEP Board Members with expertise in Food and Drink sector, property and the rural economy. This Executive Steering Board will communicate regularly with the Caucus and provide expert knowledge and guidance.

### 6. Meetings

The River Severn Partnership Caucus will hold a minimum of two meetings per year.



# 7. Members of the MP Caucus

MP Name	Constituency	Political Party
Colleen Fletcher	Coventry North East Boro Const	Labour
Zarah Sultana	Coventry South Boro Const	Labour
Mike Wood	Dudley South Boro Const	Conservative
Richard Graham	Gloucester Boro Const	Conservative
Jesse Norman	Hereford and South Herefordshire Co Const	Conservative
Philip Dunne	Ludlow Co Const	Conservative
Bill Wiggin	North Herefordshire Co Const	Conservative
Daniel Kawczynski (Chair)	Shrewsbury and Atcham Co Const	Conservative
Suzanne Webb	Stourbridge Boro Const	Conservative
Lucy Allan	Telford Boro Const	Conservative
Matt Western	Warwick and Leamington Boro Const	Labour
Harriett Baldwin	West Worcestershire Co Const	Conservative
Robin Walker	Worcester Boro Const	Conservative
Mark Garnier	Wyre Forest Co Const	Conservative
Taiwo Owatemi	Coventry North West Boro Const	Labour
Rachel Maclean	Redditch Co Const	Conservative
Nigel Huddleston	Mid Worcestershire Co Const	Conservative
Alex Chalk	Cheltenham Boro Const	Conservative
Mark Pritchard	The Wrekin Co Const	Conservative
Mark Harper	Forest of Dean Co Const	Conservative
Nadhim Zahawi	Stratford-on-Avon Co Const	Conservative
Laurence Robertson	Tewkesbury Co Const	Conservative
Jeremy Wright	Kenilworth and Southam Co Const	Conservative
Stuart Anderson	Wolverhampton South West Boro Const	Conservative
Siobhan Baillie	Stroud Co Const	Conservative
Sajid Javid	Bromsgrove Co Const	Conservative
Craig Williams	Montgomeryshire Co Const	Conservative
Owen Paterson	North Shropshire Co Const	Conservative
James Morris	Halesowen and Rowley Regis Boro Const	Conservative
Mark Pawsey	Rugby Co Const	Conservative
Fay Alicia Jones	Brecon and Radnorshire Co Const	Conservative
Marco Longhi	Dudley North Boro Const	Conservative
Gavin Williamson	South Staffordshire Co Const	Conservative
David Davies	Monmouth Co Const	Conservative
Alberto Costa	South Leicestershire Co Const	Conservative
Jane Stevenson	Wolverhampton North East Boro Const	Conservative
Bill Cash	Stone Co Const	Conservative
Chris Heaton-Harris	Daventry Co Const	Conservative
Geoffrey Clifton-Brow	The Cotswolds Co Const	Conservative
Craig Tracey	North Warwickshire Co Const	Conservative
Neil O'Brien	Harborough Co Const	Conservative
Saqib Bhatti	Meriden Co Const	Conservative
Theo Clarke	Stafford Co Const	Conservative
Luke Hall	Thornbury and Yate Co Const	Conservative
Victoria Prentis	Banbury Co Const	Conservative
Marcus Jones	Nuneaton Co Const	Conservative